Do you even study?

Week 2 of Semester 2, and it feels like I’m waist deep in quick sand. I think the biggest thing on my mind at this very moment is this: How should I be studying?

I made beautiful, Carousell-worthy mind maps jam-packed with content, but was unable to score well. Having looked through my paper today, I realised that many of my mistakes came from the lack of content knowledge.

I’m asking people how they are studying, just to maybe get some ideas to try it out. But the thing is, I only have one exam to test whatever method I choose, and it seems so daunting. You would have thought that after 12 years in the Singapore education system, I would have found something that works for me by now. Yet, here we are, feeling slightly vexed at the amount of lectures that have accumulated undigested over the past 2 weeks.

On my part, I have not been extremely diligent this week. I’ve been editing this video that I volunteered to make for our National Day Celebration in Adelaide, which is really fun but Im terrible at managing my time. Yesterday, I completely knocked out throughout the final lecture of the day.

I know I can do it. I just need to put in the time and effort and deny myself of that chance to being disappointed because I didn’t give my 100%.

No amount of gum could keep me awake that day

Leave a comment