A disappointing Friday morning

We have these scenario-based learning activities as part of our curriculum, and our current one is on explaining radiograph safety to patients. A few weeks from now, some groups will be chosen to re-enact the dentist-patient interaction in front of the cohort.

I told my group, “What if we made a video instead? Then we wouldn’t need to go up on and act in front of the class.” To which they seemed enthusiastic about! That was really encouraging for me to see.

As I brainstormed the script and typed it out, giving this 3 minute scenario intensive character backstories and great detail, I thought it would be entertaining to do it in a mockumentary style, like “The Office”, which I am a huge fan of. I printed out the scripts, practiced the camera shots in my cramped room on myself and my housemates, and watched countless videos on how to replicate the documentary camera movement, as well as sound and lighting. In order to give the piece more authenticity and realism, I sent emails to school tutors and Gilles Plains dental clinic requesting permission to film, the latter approving our request to film.

In the middle of the week, a group member messaged me asking if we could film in the city, stating that she did not want to wake up on a Friday morning to take a 30 minute bus out of the city, to film a project that was not even going to be graded. When I asked for potential locations, she sent me a picture but I really couldn’t envision it being filmed there, as it would seem like a secondary school assignment that just wanted to submit to get it over and done with.

Initially, I was quite upset with her unwillingness to be a part of it, but that quickly dispersed because I completely understood where she was coming from, and she too understood my point of view. I didn’t want to force anybody to be a part of this, so I told her that it would be okay if she doesn’t want to join.

The next day, another group member said there was a possibility that he might not be able to make it, as nobody replied to swapping shifts with him at his workplace. Albeit saddened, I started reworking the script and tried to see how we could film something with a 3-person team, just in case.

The night before the day we film, I began to feel slightly anxious, having never directed other people before. To distract myself, I ironed my dental coat, packed my study lamp and extension plug in case we need better lighting, ensured my camera stabiliser was fully charged and set aside all the miscelleneous props we would need.

Fast forward to this morning, just before I put on my shoes to head for the 8:10am bus, I open my phone to see a string of messages from my other 2 group mates asking if I have already boarded the bus, if we could postpone the shoot and about thinking through whether all this was worth it.

I kind of just sat down on my bed for a while, feeling dejected. As I typed out the apology email for the no-show to the coordinator at Gilles Plains, I just kept thinking, “Was I really caught up in my own head? Did I misread my friends that badly? Am I that insensitive? They did want to film as well, right? Or was the first group member the only one who was able to be honest with me? Do people find it difficult to be honest with me? Why did I care so much in the first place? Would life be easier if I just cared less about things?”

My groupmates were very apologetic because they knew how keen I was on this project and how enthusiastic I was about the script and the filming and all that jazz, but more than that, I felt sorry for putting everybody in such an awkward position, or at least that’s how it looked like from my perspective.

But life goes on, and minor setbacks are part and parcel of it. I have lots to take away from this and I’m sure it will help me be a better person in the future. I end this post with a quote somebody prayed during church one time:

“The years teach much that the days never knew.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Today’s just one day. There are so many more lessons to learn. So many more lectures to catch up with as well.

On the brightside, I did an inventory check today

One thought on “A disappointing Friday morning

Leave a comment