Covid and Goliath

This year has brought quite a lot of challenges and uncertainty. With Covid-19, all our lectures were taken online. For a good 7 weeks in Semester 1, Kishan, Joy and I were at home almost 24/7. There was much deliberation as to whether we should fly home, or stay in Adelaide, or whether school would resume or remain suspended. A Goliath of disarray and ambiguity about the future was set before me. It had shaken up so many plans, and on a global scale.

Having said that, I have found 2020 to be quite an enjoyable year. Here’s a list why:

  • Moved into my new home for the next 4 years and have had harmonious relations with my housemates
  • Enjoyed being able to invite people over
  • Discovered my love for catching crabs by the beach
  • Learnt an ITZY dance, credit to Joy
  • Utilised my gym membership thanks to Kishan and Ryan
  • Went on a Fleurieu Peninsula road trip with 15 people in 3 cars, as well as a camping trip at Deep Creek which was incredibly fun
  • Swam in the ocean during winter with Gareth
  • Started a small garden of basil, spring onion and bok choy in my balcony
  • Had many honest and meaningful conversations with friends
  • Visited my favourite place in Adelaide, Hallet Cove
  • Tried many many new recipes, along with my discovery of LAO GAN MA!!
  • Learnt a lot about myself through social conundrums my friends and/or I were going through (things that we would only experience because we are living in Adelaide)
  • Picked up tennis
  • Emceed for National Day Night in Adelaide
  • Watched Hamilton on Disney+
  • Improved in mahjong
  • Joined the Adelaide Uni Hip Hop dance classes on Monday
  • Bought a kite, a phone holder to watch shows in bed, a 3D window, a Ripstik and an iPad Pro

and so many more 🙂

Lectures and exams have been taken online, which I must say has worked in my favour especially for the former, seeing as how difficult I find it to keep awake in lectures. We have lost quite a lot of time (~70hrs according to John Bang) in the clinic and simulation clinic, and that will be in my next post. Struggling quite a bit in that area 😦

But overall, I am incredibly thankful to God for sustaining me, through the ups of the joys of friendship and company here, as well as the downs of failures in school and waves of homesickness. Covid or Goliath, God is greater!

4 crabs were coated in black pepper sauce that day, and the remaining 8 were steamed to death.

Leave a comment