2020 Vision for 2021

Never before has a year felt like eternity but also seemingly passing by in the blink of an eye to me. It has been a very challenging year, physically, emotionally, psychologically and spiritually, but I take comfort in the fact that I know I am now better because of it all.

Physically

I’ve put my body through more training and exercise than the Singapore government ever put me through during National Service. Not only did I begin a strict gym routine (at one point in time, 5 days a week), but I’ve also ventured into sports that I thought I would be too old to pick up, such as tennis and football.

The latter being something that I’ve always felt afraid of joining, because of my crappy coordination that would lead to my team’s downfall. It didn’t help that I was always one fo the last to be picked for teams during PE in secondary school. But a group of Singaporean guys have started playing regularly on Sundays, organically resulting from the boredom of COVID-19, and I think I’ll always remember what I said after my first time joining them: “The most fun I’ve ever had in a very long time.” What a blessing it has been to play with friends who celebrate my mistakes as worthy attempts and don’t withhold their encouragement when I’ve improved. I even bought a pair of football boots!

Besides that, I’ve started taking dancing more seriously. Going for classes on Mondays at the university’s “hip-hop” club really makes my weekends feel 3 days long, and I always look forward to it. It’s also great to meet many other non-Singaporean and non-dentistry/medicine people who share a similar passion of mine. As of now, the goal is to dance like our choreographer and fellow student, Adib (who as Ern likened to Moose from Step Up), but I’m looking forward to where this takes me.

Emotionally

This year has solidified my decision to return to Singapore on the first flight available after my 5 years of studying here in Adelaide. When my brother ordered Korean fried chicken wings from one of my favourite Korean restaurants in Adelaide, Busan Baby, through Uber Eats and I was not at home to receive it, it really made me feel very sad. I don’t even know where the chicken went to, and he didn’t get a refund either. But above all, it was painful to miss out on yet another moment of love from family, and who knows how many more I’ve missed by being away from home.

Missing out on all my friends and extended family’s birthdays and milestones also make it difficult to rationalise any more time spent in this foreign land that charges me $15 for Nasi Lemak.

Psychologically and Spiritually

I think these two are very intrinsically linked for me, because I’ve realised that how I think and perceive my circumstances are shaped by what I believe in. I’ve shared at lengths about my journey in simulation clinic and needing to persevere through the many failed attempts in my previous post, and having just gotten my results yesterday, I am pleased to be moving on to year 3 of dental school!

Something that really challenged me spiritually this year was when we were going through the book of Peter in the Bible.

Be subject for the Lord’s sake to every human institution, whether it be to the emperor as supreme, 14 or to governors as sent by him to punish those who do evil and to praise those who do good. 15 For this is the will of God, that by doing good you should put to silence the ignorance of foolish people. 16 Live as people who are free, not using your freedom as a cover-up for evil, but living as servants of God.
1 Peter 2:13-16

We discussed in depth about submitting to authority, and what that looked like for us as university students, with one aspect being honouring the online examination integrity by doing the exam alone and not with friends. It really pricked me because that was exactly what I had done earlier in the year. As we continued to discuss, it really weighed on me more and more that my friend and I could be honouring God by submitting to the school’s authority. What kind of Christ would we be reflecting if we continued to cheat for future exams?

Yet, I knew there were other students who would definitely be doing it as well and would be benefitting from the collusion. This would be yet another turning point of choosing to follow God, trusting in His provision while it might seem like we are “losing out”. After a deep conversation with my friend, we decided we would do our second semester exams separately, so that we might glorify God by submitting to our human authorities, and I’m really thankful for his encouraging response of agreement.

ALL IN ALL…

It’s been a heck of a ride. Friendships deepened, some strained and tested. Crabs caught, many thrown back. Some days I feel on top of the world, and others make me question the reason for my existence, but ALL IN ALL, it is an undeniable truth that God has been with me through 2020 and will continue to be with me as I sail into the horizon of 2021.

Peace out 2020. It’s been real.

Leave a comment