Part-time dentist

Seeing as it’s halfway through the year, I thought it would be a good time to update some things on my journey in dental school here in Adelaide.

We’ve started seeing patients – REAL patients from the public healthcare system. The first patient I had was from China and took great comfort in the fact that I spoke Mandarin. Since then, I’ve forced myself to learn some key words and even asked a classmate from China to help me with some dental terminology. I have seen this patient many times since, because she told me to call her if a patient ever cancels their appointment. She’s come to the rescue at least twice, and I am incredibly grateful for her 🙂

My other patients have been quite kind as well. Each session, I learn so much more. I’ve fumbled quite a few times, but the learning is really tremendous and I’m thoroughly enjoying it. All has been pretty chill that way, because clinically, all we do is apply what we have already been practicing on one another for the past 2 years. Semester 2 will probably be slightly more challenging when we see more than 2 patients per 3.5hr session.

Aside from school and the length of my hair, I have also been growing in many other ways. I’ve been meeting up regularly with a friend, John Bang, to read the Bible and pray for one another. He first approached me way back in my first year, and I thought doing 1 to 1 encouragement was rather foreign to me. However, I’ve been incredibly blessed through it. It’s been a real pick-me-up at times spiritually, especially at times when I’ve just thrown myself into everything else and forgot about God. Really thank God for the gift of friendship where iron sharpens iron.

I joined a social futsal league! Can’t believe I did. Honestly, this has been a quiet dream of mine. I’ve always wished to be more skilled with my feet. The number of times in the army when I would abstain from playing football because I’m just so terrible at it, and today, here I am as a defender for the team, growing bolder each game alongside a really encouraging group of guys.

Dance has been a real journey as well. I began learning from a good friend of mine, Adib. Listening to his views on dance, and what it means to him, as well as really paying attention to music has quite radically changed how I look at this hobby. I try to record every dance practice I go for, in hopes that one day, I’ll look back and see how far I have come. I have taken a break (from gymming as well) however, because I had a minor tear in my left anterior fibular ligament after that ONE time I tried to play basketball during dentistry camp at the start of April.

As a side hustle, I have been tutoring primary school children in English and Mathematics. At present, I have 5 kids I’m tutoring ranging from 5 years old to 12 years old. It’s been really good in helping me save up for things I want to buy or do – especially for a skiing trip in Melbourne this coming break (hopefully COVID-19 doesn’t rear its ugly head at us again). More than that, I have really enjoyed teaching each one of them! They really brighten my day 🙂

By word of mouth, I might be teaching a girl next semester with a learning disability. I have no training whatsoever, but I hope that I will be able to help her learn what she needs to in school!

Last but not least, I have sprung into a world of songwriting. Largely inspired by Tiktokkers who write short songs, as well as artists like Charlie Puth, Lauv and AJR who do much of their songwriting and production on their own, I have decided to give it a shot myself. At present, I have about 17 songs that I have written since childhood – 11 of which I wrote since coming to Adelaide and 9 of that 11 being written in the past 5 months. I aim to write as many songs as I can, most of which won’t be good, but I know that there will be some that are worth keeping. I’m currently saving up to buy a new laptop, new recording equipment like a good condenser, music interface and music editing software as well.

I’m ACHING for exams to be over so that I can launch myself into this. Having never been in a relationship, I was not sure what experience or emotions I could draw from. In this process, however, I’ve discovered that there can be many kinds of love songs – familial love, love of the past, love of the yet to come. Going through life with my friends also lets me draw on their experiences with romantic love and heartbreak to write lyrics. I really am bursting to write music, refine it and put it on Spotify to listen to it for myself as well. Also thinking of joining the uni’s talent competition with one of my songs (and also to win $500 so I can get some good equipment)! Would it be nice to win a Grammy one day? For sure! But for now, music is therapy for me.

Just by the content of this entry, it’s very clear that so much is happening in my life apart from school. I miss home so so much. Family, if you are reading this, I would just like to say a 2 things to you for now:

  1. I really hope you all like my songs, and it’s okay if you don’t, but I hope you do HAHA. Music will be another avenue of self-expression.
  2. YES MOM AND DAD, I am studying hard. I have not forgotten why I am here, not even for a second. But I can’t just be a student, and I’m sure you both already know that 🙂

The grooves of my soles were filled with poo because of this.

#worth

Leave a comment